Official Pics from Amaa Awards

By  |  0 Comments

The African Movie Academy Awards (AMAA) held on April 20th in Yenogoa, Bayelsa. The event was well attended by film personalities from around the world.  The event which is organized yearly by Peace Anyiam Osigwe is in its 9AmaaAmaa1Amaa2Amaa3AMAA4AMAA5AMAA5AMAA6AMAA7AMAA8AMAA9AMAA10th year and had as special guest, African-American actor and director, Mario Van Peebles. Winners announced included the AMAA11AMAA12AMAA13AMAA15AMAA16late Justus Esiri who won the award for Best actor in a Lead role for his role in the movie ‘Assassin’s Practice’. South African actress, Florence Masabe won the Best Actress award for her  role in the film, “Elelwani”. Other winners include Belinda Effah who won for Most Promising Actress (Kokomma), Niji Akanni  won the Best Director (Heroes & Zeroes), Gabriel Afolayan won Best actor in a supporting role (HoodRush) Kenneth Gyang won Best Film for ‘Confusion Na Wa’.

AMAA honored Chief Eddie Ugboma (OON), Sir Osifadinma Okeke Oguno (Ossy Affason), Ayuko Babu, Pete Edochie and Tunde Kelani with Life Time Achievement Awards.  The award body also gave Special Recognition to ace producer, Emem Isong, veteran actors, Kanayo O. Kanayo, Kenneth Okonkwo, recognizing them as pillars of Nollywood.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *