By  |  0 Comments

From the votes of viewers across Africa straddling the Internet and SMS, and judges, Feyisekemi Akinwale, a 19-year-old Ondo State native, has been adjudged winner of the 2013 Next Movie Star Africa Reloaded edition.
She beat eight other finalists Ola Adebolu (Nigeria), Nwanma Odefa (Nigeria), Margaret Vaeveni Shikuyele (Namibia), Imoh Chimezie Emmanuel (Nigeria), Fatou Touray (Gambia), Gideon Moses (Nigeria), Da-Costa Olasubomi (Nigeria) and Belinda Coffie Coleman (Ghana) to the coveted prize in reality television shows. Thus, Feyisekemi would be rewarded with a brand new SUV, cash prize and movie roles. Adebolu, Odefa, Shikuyele and Chimezie who emerged first, second, third and fourth runners up respectively would also get cash prizes and movie contracts for their efforts.
To announce the winner was veteran actress, Racheal Oniga, who was also one of this edition’s judges. She was joined by President of the Independent Television Producers Association of Nigeria, ITPAN, Stephen Osezua; renowned actress cum director, Pat Oghre-Osezua; winner of the Next Movie Star 2012, Halimat Aitsegame and Vchannel presenter and first runner up, Next Movie Star 2012, Bridget Chigbufue.
A French student at the Ekiti State University, Feyisekemi was beside herself with joy as she muttered repeatedly, ‘Thank God, Thank God’. She described her victory as an act of God because “I wasn’t expecting this at all. I just threw myself into the show believing that God’s will shall be done. Now, God’s will has been done. I am just too excited to say much now,” she said.

Tagged ‘Call 2 Stardom’, the 2013 NMS Africa Reloaded edition featured housemates from Nigeria, Ghana, Sierra Leone, Liberia, The Gambia, Kenya, Namibia and South Africa. Nollywood actor and former runner up in the Mr. Nigeria contest, Seun Akindele, was the host this year.
More than any other reality television show, the Next Movie Star has discovered a plethora of super stars for the Nigerian and African entertainment industry including Uti Nwachukwu, Karen Igho, Tonto Dikeh, Annie McCaulay-Idibia, Kevin Chuwang Pam, Tamara Eteimo, Lydia Forson and Adams Ibrahim among many others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *