By  |  0 Comments

Today,  members of the Association of Nigeria Theatre Practitioners (ANTP) arrived Ibadan, for the  judgement in a leadership tussle suit that has been ravaging the leading Yoruba movie trade group which has been on  for four years.
The leadership crisis dates back to February 10, 2010 after the convoluted election that took place at the Ace Hall, Yemetu, Ibadan. The election ended in controversy following the trouble that erupted over accredited delegates and other  unresolved issues. It was a leadership battle between star actor, Dele Odule and theatre practitioner, Victor Ashaolu.
The crisis deepened when one of the contestants, Victor Ashaolu in September 2010, claimed another election held and it was a landslide victory for him with votes from seven states the ANTP was operating from. The states namely Oyo, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Ekiti, Kwara and Lagos, he claimed, voted massively for him to emerge as the President, while his opponent, Dele Odule and his supporters boycotted the September 22, 2010 election in Ilorin,  Kwara State.
“I would say if a candidate boycotts an election, it does not invalidate the election. Every candidate was informed of the election date, so their boycott does not make my election controversial”, Ashaolu had claimed in the wake of the controversies that followed his election that he was the bonafide President of the association while a staunch opposition from Dele Odule was against him. While the crisis rages on, the tenure of Jide Kosoko expired but following the ruling of the court that all the status quo should remain, Kosoko had continued to lead the association. More than ever, the association witnessed not less than two breakout factions-The One House and The Ambassadors.
Since then, the battle for the soul of the ANTP has continued to dominate discussions and meetings before Ashaolu eventually went to court seeking the Judiciary to validate his election and declare him as the President.
Today, the embattled leaders came before Justice Bolaji Yussuf of the Federal High Court 3, Ring road, Ibadan for the final judgement.
Spotted in Ibadan since yesterday are the factonal leaders and their supporters- Chief Lere Paimo, Oloye Jimoh Aliu, Prince Jide Kosoko, Rasak Adewale ( Sokoti) Bolaji Amusan (Mr. LATIN), Oyewole Olowomojuore ( Baba Gebu), Tajudeen Gbadamosi, Feso Oyewole, Peju Ogunmola, Yomi Fash-Lanso, Babatunde Bamgbode ( Fokoko), Ojo Olowojolu and Yomi Faleye (Osagie), Toyosi Adesanya, Yomi Fabiyi, Bola Obot, ,ANTP governors and representatives from Oyo, Ogun, Kwara, Ondo, Ekiti, Osun and Lagos. The court hearing was at 11:00 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *